STATE OF VERMONTDEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC SAFETYVERMONT STATE POLICEPRESS RELEASEBoating Safety in VermontContact person:Sgt. Trevor Carbo, Marine Division Commander/ Williston Barracks, 802-878-7111 extension 2207Williston, VT – 5/26/16 – The Vermont State Police Marine Division is the primary law enforcement agency responsible for ensuring the safety of the recreating public on Vermont waterways. In addition to enforcing marine laws, the division provides many education programs designed to make the waterways safer for everyone. With the upcoming boating season approaching, the Vermont State Police Marine Division would like to remind all boaters of the following state boating laws:· Those born after January 1, 1974, must have successfully completed an approved boating safety education course to legally operate any motorized vessel, including a personal watercraft.· All vessels must carry a USCG wearable personal floatation device (PFD) for each person on board. This includes canoes, kayaks and paddle boards.· All children under the age of 12 must wear a USCG-approved Personal floatation device while underway on the open deck of any vessel.· An operator must stop his or her vessel when signaled to do so by a trooper wearing an identifying insignia or by a state police vessel sounding a siren or displaying a blue light. It is unlawful to fail to stop or attempt to elude the trooper. The trooper has the authority to stop and board vessels to check for compliance with state and federal laws.· To legally operate a vessel propelled by a motor on the public waters of Vermont, the vessel must have a Vermont Certificate of Registration and validation sticker.· The certificate of registration must be onboard and available for inspection by a law enforcement officer whenever the vessel is being operated.· Vermont law prohibits the discharge of any sewage, treated or untreated, into the state’s waters. Vessels equipped with a marine toilet must have a wastewater holding system to prevent the discharge of waste products into surrounding waters. All discharge lines, pipes or hoses associated with the holding tank must be disconnected and stored while the vessel is on Vermont waters.· The noise level of a motorized vessel measured at a distance of 50 feet or more from the vessel must not exceed 82 decibels in normal operating environments.· It is unlawful to operate a vessel at greater than “no wake speed “within 200 feet of:1) The shoreline;2) A person in the water;3) A canoe, rowboat or other vessel;4) An anchored or moored vessel with a person onboard; or5) An anchorage or dock.· A vessel must be operated at a speed of 5 miles per hour or less within 200 feet of a marked swimming area. (“No Wake Speed” means to operate at vessel at a speed at which the vessel does not produce a wake, or not to exceed 5 miles per hour.)· Vermont State law prohibits anyone from boating while intoxicated (BWI) due to alcohol, drugs or any combination of both.Please visit the Vermont State Police website at vsp.vermont.gov for further information regarding boating education classes.Sergeant Trevor Carbo, Marine Division CommanderVermont State Police - Williston2777 Saint George RoadWilliston, Vermont 05495Office: 802-878-7111Email: trevor.carbo@Vermont.gov
The Vermont State Police disseminate press releases for significant criminal or public safety incidents and arrests, but it is not intended to document every public contact or response to a call-for-service. If you have a question regarding an incident or case, please contact your local state police barracks or the public information officer. Please note press releases are available on this blog for 6 months following their public release. Please contact the public information officer if you need access to one that is older.